Facebook Twitter OCS TV Instagram
« Back to news list
2016-17 Teacher of the Year Announced

News Image

Dixon Elementary kindergarten teacher Lisa Godwin was recognized by Onslow County Schools as its Teacher of the Year.  On Sept. 7th,  Superintendent Stout and school administrators made the surprise announcement during a staff meeting prior to the start of school.

Godwin was born and raised in Swann Station, located near Sanford, NC. She graduated from St. Andrews Presbyterian College and began her teaching career in the Lee County School district. She obtained a Master’s Degree in School Administration from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and served as an assistant principal in Lee County for two years. In 2012, she joined the Onslow County Schools’ family as assistant principal at Meadow View Elementary for two years. Although she enjoyed being an administrator, her heart was in the classroom. She joined Dixon Elementary in 2013.

Being among the top five finalists, Godwin’s classroom was observed Sept. 6th by representatives from the Teacher of the Year Committee. As she wiped tears from her eyes she shared that her father was about to go into surgery and her son was traveling overseas – all of which weighed heavily on her during the observation.

“I am so glad it didn’t show while I was teaching,” she said.

Honored to have been selected, she told the Dixon staff, “I represent all of you,you are all a part of this, so I want to not only represent Onslow County Schools but also represent Dixon Elementary School.”

Godwin serves as a beginning teacher mentor and is currently working on obtaining National Board Certification.

The OCS TOY Committee reviewed portfolios of all teachers selected by their schools as their TOY. Interviews were conducted on the top 10 semi-finalists. Following the interviews the committee narrowed the field to the top five finalists and conducted classroom observations of those five to determine who would be the 2016-17 TOY.

Finalists include:

Southwest High School, Julie Pollock, science department chair, biology, biology honors and biology II AP

Dixon High School, Michael Perry, social studies, journalism

White Oak High School, Michael Larose, social studies, American history, American history honors

Swansboro High School, Erin Walsh, math department chair, AP stats, honors math III, math I, Math III


2016-17 Teachers of the Year

Bell Fork Elementary — Elizabeth Lavigne

Blue Creek Elementary — Shawn Babner, first grade

Carolina Forest International Elementary — Tammy Clark, fourth grade

Clyde Erwin Elementary — Brandon Sanfilippo, PE

Dixon Elementary — Lisa Godwin, Kindergarten

Dixon High — Michael Perry, Social Studies and Journalism

Dixon Middle — Natalie Ostrander, seventh grade math/SC

Hunters Creek Elementary — Karen Helms, Literacy Specialists

Hunters Creek Middle — Hannah Hill, eighth grade social studies &AVID

Jacksonville Commons Elementary — Kimberly Ward, second grade

Jacksonville Commons Middle — Catherine Rhodes, eighth grade Language Arts & Social Studies

Jacksonville High — Sandy Dixon, Exceptional Children department chair

Meadow View Elementary — Olga Guzman, third grade

Morton Elementary — Kelly Nagy

New Bridge Middle — Collin Stoneham, eighth grade social studies

Northside High — Kadie Ondrus

Northwoods Elementary — Cheryl Crane, first grade

Northwoods Park Middle — Amanda Pelch, MYP English/Language Arts & Humanities 6th Grade

Onslow County Learning Center — Arlisa Broadnax, social studies

Parkwood Elementary — Brenda Autry, fourth grade

Queens Creek Elementary — Tori Carpenter, fifth grade science

Richlands Elementary — Katherine Alphin, fourth grade

Richlands Primary — Michelle Huffman, kindergarten

Richlands Elementary — Katherine Alphin

Richlands High — Gregory Shreckengost

Sand Ridge Elementary — Gina Boyer

Silverdale Elementary — Rhonda Gregware, fifth grade

Southwest High — Julie Pollock, science department chair

Southwest Elementary — Mary Downs

Southwest High —Julie Pollock

Southwest Middle — Laura Knight, Exceptional Children

Stateside Elementary — Lisa Faude, EC Teacher - 2-3 Resource Teacher

Summersill Elementary — Jamie Cosenza

Swansboro Elementary — Wanda Conaway

Swansboro High — Erin Walsh

Swansboro Middle — Ellen Matthews

Thompson Early Childhood Center — Shanna Romano

Trexler Middle — Richard Yurick

White Oak High — Michael Larose




Footer Address

Our website is in the process of being updated to ensure compliance with section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. In the interim website accessibility concerns may be brought to the attention of Jeff Pittman, Chief Technology Officer.

The school system retains control over what links will be placed on system-related websites; however, the linked sites themselves are not under the control
of the school system, its agents or its employees. The school system is not responsible for the contents of any linked site, any link contained in a linked site,
or any changes or updates to such sites. The school system provides links as a convenience, and the inclusion of any link does not imply endorsment
of the site by the school system. The school system reserves the right to remove or restrict any links.