Facebook Twitter OCS TV Instagram
« Back to news list
Magnet School Applications Available

The Division of Academic Innovation of Onslow County Schools announces the availability of magnet school applications for the 2009-2010 school year.  Onslow County currently offers two magnet school opportunities:  Clyde Erwin Elementary Magnet School and New Bridge Middle School. 

At the elementary level, Clyde Erwin Elementary School delivers the North Carolina Standard Course of Study through the lens of international studies and cultural arts.  Teachers and students alike explore the variety of cultures in our society and around the world.  The interactions and interdependence of people and where they live sets the foundation for learning experiences. 

At the middle school level, New Bridge Middle School utilizes science and technology to focus instruction.  The North Carolina Standard Course of Study remains the guide for teachers, but in planning and carrying out lessons, students are asked to think like a scientist and use technology tools to make discoveries. 

Each school is a public school that is a part of the Onslow County School System and there is no additional cost to attend.  However, prospective students must apply for admission to either magnet school.  Applications are available from February 9, 2009 until March 6, 2009.  During the week of February 9th, applications are being sent home with each pre-k through 7th grade student in Onslow County.  Applications are also available at the Onslow County Schools Central Office, at the magnet schools, and online at http://www.onslow.k12.nc.us/.  Applications must be delivered to the Onslow County Schools Central Office by 5:00pm or postmarked by Friday, March 6, 2009.  No faxes or emails will be accepted. 


Footer Address